Home » Computing » Laptop » Asus Eee PC 1000 - 40GB SSD Linux Edition

Asus Eee PC 1000 - 40GB SSD Linux Edition review

Andy Vandervell



Our Score


Review Price free/subscription

It's another Eee PC: hooray! As noted in the review of the MSI Wind last week, Asus' response to the myriad of potential suitors to its netbook crown has been quite wide ranging. Today is the fourth Eee PC model we've reviewed and Asus lists no less than eleven different configurations on its website, split between six different models. With another Intel Celeron based version, the Eee PC 904, also due to appear soon, it's a messy and confusing range to say the least.

So, the Eee PC 1000 - what sets this apart from the rest? It is ostensibly Asus' answer to the likes of the MSI Wind, featuring as it does a near identical 10in, 1,024 x 600, LED backlit screen, a larger and more comfortable keyboard and consequently a larger chassis as well. Measuring 266mm across the Eee PC 1000 is around four centimetres wider than the 901 and at 191.2mm deep, about two centimetres deeper as well. It also weighs more, at 1.33kg compared to the 1.1kg of the Eee PC 901. Indeed, as our shots show, it's also slightly wider and deeper than the MSI Wind, though not devastatingly so.

Does this extra size matter? As ever it depends on how you use it…your netbook, that is. We still hold the form factor of the 901 in high regard and it's definitely a degree or two more portable, but if you do want a better keyboard then the extra size and weight of the 1000 is a small and very bearable price to pay. Moreover, though many still lament the fact that you could get a larger and more powerful laptop for around the same price as one of these, the difference between a 1.3kg 10in machine and a 15.4in, or even 13.3in and 12.1in, laptop is quite substantial.

Apart from the size, visually the Eee PC 1000 is basically identical to the 901. It has the same glossy finish, same logos and the same basic arrangement of connections. It's still an attractive unit all in all, but in this size bracket the MSI Wind probably has the edge in the aesthetics department. It simply looks and feels a little slimmer and sleeker, though its smaller touch pad is a minor negative.

Inside very little has changed. You still get a 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 1GB of RAM, Wireless-N, 10/100 Fast Ethernet and Bluetooth, but you do get more storage. Our Linux sample comes equipped with 40GBs worth of solid state storage and the Windows version, the Eee PC 1000(H), comes with a 1.8in 80GB mechanical drive.

Thus, for the Linux version at least, you get double the storage of the 901, while the 1000(H) features four times the amount of storage of the Linux version of the 901 and six and a half times the storage of the Windows 901. These are, obviously, pretty significant amounts and though you lack the peace of mind an SSD gives in regards to durability, if you want to use your Eee PC more extensively the 80GB HDD is a compelling option.

Next page

paul king

July 10, 2008, 12:22 pm

Yes the 40gb in linux going to be big i think as you can always format and install XP if you like. and powered by the New ATOM Processor and having wireless N land and bluetooth built in webcam i can not see the point in buying any higher priced notebooks for surfing checking email and internet. ive just placed me pre order at ASUS eeepc www.asusnotebooks.co.uk hopefully saying they will have me stock middle of JULY.

Ill comment again once fully tested and used see if it is the deal Paul King


July 10, 2008, 2:01 pm

I wanted to ask, Is the Storage in the Eee pc 1000 a full 40GB SSD or is this split into a primary and secondary 8GBG and 32GB??

Andy Vandervell

July 10, 2008, 2:08 pm

It's split.


July 10, 2008, 2:12 pm

40GB is plenty of storage. Hell, I'm happy with the 4GB on the 7 series!

I think paying 㿀 to upgrade from hard drive to SSD is a reasonable price - much better than the Macbook Air upgrade.

Having playing with the MSI Wind - I find this form factor strays slightly from what was the original point of the EeePC - it was never meant to be a complete laptop. It'll be interesting to see if it's as easy to carry as the 7 series - which feels like I'm taking a book on the train.


July 10, 2008, 2:13 pm

Do you know what the Sizes of each SSD are if they are split?


July 10, 2008, 2:16 pm

Sorry again Andy, Ive read in other places that the secondary SSD used in both the 901 and the 1000 are not fast SSD's and when compared to the 1000H 80GB HDD there isn't much difference. Did you notice this? Or were you happy with the overall performance of the 1000?

Andy Vandervell

July 10, 2008, 2:53 pm

You'd be hard pressed to notice any real difference in my opinion. After all, these kinds of machines aren't really intended for their high performance, so any differences in that performance is near non-existant.


July 10, 2008, 3:07 pm

love the bigger size keyboard, and this is really the form factor i've been waiting for. Hope it will be available in Denmark soon, though i doubt it :(

Can't decide wether to get the windows og linux version. the SSD isn't faster?. It's just more reliable?

Andy Vandervell

July 10, 2008, 3:11 pm

Yeah, that's about right and obviously it's smaller as well.


July 10, 2008, 3:23 pm

Hi Andy, Did you manage to find out what sizes the primary and secondary SSD in the 1000??

Andy Vandervell

July 10, 2008, 3:28 pm

They're as you said, with 30GB free on one partition and 4GB free on the other after the OS.


July 10, 2008, 4:17 pm

'Split' means one can actually merge the two partitions and make it one? Anyways, having read this review, i think i'll opt for the 8.9in version. I really liked my times with Sony TR, 10.3" notebook feauturing, iirc, 1280x768 resolution. Having a 1024x768 at 10" in 2007 is just wrong! Smaller sizes and weights make 901 more student bag-friendly than anything else; an external monitor and keyboard will do for writing long texts and for all the finger-and-eye-consuming applications (at home i have an ancient tower w/ 17" crt which will also do).

P.S. I believe the wide chassis of 1000 would fit even 11 inches--note the large space wasted around the screen.

P.P.S. Andy, thanks for the review, it's awesome--as usual.

Andy Vandervell

July 10, 2008, 4:23 pm

Many thanks, clearly we're like minded too. :)


July 10, 2008, 4:34 pm

I wouldn't mind a 8.9" Eee pc, but the larger keyboard is really important for me. During lectures and stuff I wanna be able to write relatively fast...

is it possible to change the harddrives later on?

Andy Vandervell

July 10, 2008, 4:55 pm

Can't see why not. There's still space for a 1.8 inch drive and it's easy enough to access.


July 10, 2008, 6:41 pm

The comparison shots are interesting but including a full sized keyboard (numpad-less would be best) for comparison would have made it easier to see how much of an improvement the wind/eee1000 was from the 901.


July 10, 2008, 9:23 pm

If I went for the Linux version, and then installed xp pro, would the Dolby Sound Room functionality still work, i.e. would the sound quality still be as good? Is it a software application too?


July 11, 2008, 4:46 am

Hi Andy, If I was to install a 1.8" HDD would I need to remove the current 40GB SSD or can I have both in the 1000??


July 11, 2008, 11:13 pm

The asus website and press release for the new models (http://usa.asus.com/news_show.... shows that the 1000 can have up to 2GB RAM but I can't find any more information about this on other websites.

Would this extra memory really be worth it in this machine? Where can I find models that include it or is the RAM sold seperately?

Andy Vandervell

July 12, 2008, 3:46 pm

@Diggerless - Dolby Sound Room ONLY works on Windows XP, so yes that's the case. Sound quality will certainly be as good and even without Sound Room it is very good.

@Nadz - Yes, you would have to remove the 40GB SSD.

@ Maleraka - As far as I know there are no plans for 2GB models, so it would be an upgrade you'd have to do yourself. On Linux I don't think it would be worth it, but under Windows it may be useful if you're a heavy user.


July 16, 2008, 4:25 pm

And what about the eee 901? Is it possible to swap it's ssd drive for a 1.8 one?

Andy Vandervell

July 16, 2008, 5:58 pm

No, it's doesn't have the space as far as I'm aware.

Chris Philpot

July 17, 2008, 12:48 am

Au contraire - it's been done via a 1.8" ZIF drive using a nattily placed connector within the stock 901. Have a look at:


There's a very clear instructional video at some point in the thread, but perhaps it's best to read it through to see if it's for you. :-)

Richard 4

July 17, 2008, 4:40 pm

Hello, I have been looking to get get a new smaller laptop for a while now. I started looking at the Asus eee pc 900 series, then the 901 series and now the 1000, the only problem is that I need windows, and like a few comments on here about being a student and needing the bigger screen completely understand. Question is that do you think I will be able to install xp on there with no problems, I mean in the way that everything will still work? Of course after downloading all of the drivers from the web site, thanks.


July 28, 2008, 1:49 pm

Does the EEE PC 1000 support WPA2 encryption? I need to enter a username and password in order to connect to the university network.

comments powered by Disqus