Acer Aspire 5551 specs

Ardjuna Seghers

By Ardjuna Seghers


Key Features

  • AMD Phenom II X3 N830 CPU
  • AMD Mobility Radeon HD 4250 graphics
  • 4GB RAM, 320GB HDD
  • 15.6in, HD Ready screen
  • Manufacturer: Acer
  • Review Price: £393.32
Quick Glance
Display 15.6 in
Processor AMD Athlon X2
Processor Speed Standard 2.1 GHz
Memory (RAM) 3 GB
Hard Disk Drive (HDD) 320 GB
Processor, Memory & Storage
Processor AMD Athlon X2
Processor Speed Standard 2.1 GHz
Memory (RAM) 3 GB
Hard Disk Drive (HDD) 320 GB
DVD Optical Drive DVD+-RW DL
Graphics & Sound
Graphics ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4250
Display 15.6 in


July 30, 2010, 7:22 pm

I havve just bought acer 5551 from currys digital with excellent service. i am ver pleased with it as one of the main reasons was to store and play classical music.Audio Reproduction is excellent. It is a pleasure watching missed programs on iplayer. I recommend.

simon 23

August 13, 2010, 4:26 am

i bought this laptop from pcworld about 1 month ago and... i just love it the design the features ram processor sound everything jst is wow only one defect synaptics drivers do not like other mouses plugged in so i had about 3 hours of kicking the computer for my mum to press fn f7 to fix it so if u want to install a usb mouse dnt bt apart from tht i wud recommend it to anyone and hope they love it as much as i do

simon 23

August 13, 2010, 4:37 am

also to add to my last comment i forgot to say that this review is quite an under statement there was alot of camparing rather than looking at the computer itself and it deserved a little better than it got


August 13, 2010, 7:35 pm

Bought from Argos for £399 and it is amazing!! can play games like Spore or The Sims really well! :) battery life is brilliant too :) but i am disappointed with the speakers :/ but i had to change the EQ and the settings to get it okay..... but overall amazing! :)


September 28, 2010, 11:21 am

I bought the acer aspire 5551 about a week back, the only problem i have with it is when i plug in any flash drive, it doesn't show the content of the flash, the only thing it show are shortcuts of the content. Can anyone please help me with this problem?


September 13, 2013, 3:09 pm

amazing laptop. Running 7 on it and it plays many of my games and software with no issues.


October 25, 2013, 6:01 am

does it play battlefield 3


October 27, 2013, 9:16 pm

Do you still aprove?


November 8, 2013, 12:48 am

CRAP laptop, apparently it has a faulty chip in the mother board that was a know manufacture effect...yet never was recalled. will last a max 3 years.


January 9, 2014, 5:23 am

this laptop was good once. iv had it for 3 years and 3 months.and its on its deathbed but still keeps going. processor is good and has room to take more ram and it has taken a hell of a bashing with case cracked and stuff and the keyboard doesnt work with keys missing too.. there is a fault that seems to make the laptop cut out randomly sometimes. but there is one major problem with it! the GPU is absolutely god awful. i cant even run any games from 2008 period unless they at low - mid graphics. few years ago was a good buy but now most basic laptops will pretty much be on par if not outperform it.

John Colborne

January 5, 2015, 9:44 pm

not true. I have had mine now for over 4 years. no issues. still have all original hardware.

Christine Ó Cheallaigh

March 17, 2015, 12:22 pm

That explains a lot. I bought mine in 2011 and it gave out on me in 2013, I have no idea what happened to it, it just quit working. It would come on but would not go past the diagnostics screen, I ran everything I could think of on it and nothing worked, it would not go to start screen at all and finally just quit powering on. I had to eventually buy a new laptop because my Acer had totally died. Now I own a Toshiba Satellite that I bought in August 2013 and have had no complaints yet.

comments powered by Disqus