Home / Computing / Laptop / Acer Aspire 1825PTZ / Keyboard, Touchpad, Audio-Visual & Touch

Acer Aspire 1825PTZ - Keyboard, Touchpad, Audio-Visual & Touch

Ardjuna Seghers

By Ardjuna Seghers

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

8

Like the Butterfly Touch, the keyboard on the 1825PTZ offers an excellent layout and is generally quite nice to use. However, due to feedback being just a tad too shallow - in addition, oddly, to a little more flex than we noticed on the PB - it isn't our preferred choice for long typing sessions.

Likewise the touchpad doesn't feel quite as responsive (in multi-touch gesture controls especially), but whether this is due to its coating or different sensitivity settings is difficult to say. Don't get us wrong, though; it's still great to use and its buttons are just as pleasant and positive as those of its sibling.

On the audio front, the 1825PTZ performs just as impressively as the Butterfly Touch. Its Dolby Sound Room-enhanced speakers manage remarkable volume levels for the laptop's size, with clear mid and high-end and even some decent bass.

Unfortunately Acer doesn't offer a matt screen option to go with its largely matt bezel, so any ambient lighting will lead to distracting reflections. Aside from this the convertible's 11.6in screen, with its 1,366 x 768 resolution, is decent. As usual with laptop panels, it's weak on vertical viewing angles and dark detailing, but makes up for this by offering even backlighting, good sharpness and truly excellent horizontal viewing angles, aiding its tablet appeal.

Our experience with touch, and using the 1825PTZ in the unique ways its swivel screen allows, was essentially identical to that provided by the Butterfly Touch, so if you want to get the full story we recommend you give page three of that review a look.

In summary, though, the form factor offers a few worthwhile advantages over a standard laptop. In particular the ability to view documents and web pages in portrait mode is very useful, while the multi-touch enabled screen itself is highly accurate and sensitive to the touch. Its only disadvantage is it can't be used with an ordinary digitiser pen, though you can buy capacitive-enabled styli should you wish to use one.

Nicholas Pires

May 28, 2010, 1:35 pm

Ahh it's my laptop! You got hold of one then :)





Not that it matters but how would the scores be affected if it had the 4GB RAM and 320GB HDD + the DVD/RW and a wireless mouse for under £600?? ;-)

krosser

May 28, 2010, 8:47 pm

So, you've compared the SU2300 to the SU4100 and it's good to know. But how faster is the SU2300 than Atom N450? Is it noticeable?


Thanks in advance.

Gen

May 28, 2010, 9:12 pm

@Nicholas





Do you use it in tablet form or is that something that is pretty cool in the beginning but is just not that useful?





Thanks for your time!

Nicholas Pires

May 29, 2010, 3:25 am

@Gen





I use it in tablet form pretty much all of the time when I get the chance. As it's pretty much my pc to use when I get home late at night and want to surf the net/send a few emails etc before I go bed rather than turning on my big quad core machine. It's fantastic to be honest seeing as it's a capacitive screen it's really responsive to the fingers so I just run it in tablet mode hold it like a book or prop it up on my lap and just wisk my finger across as I need to browse about. It really is that and a bag of chips. Only complaint is sometimes I need to be very specific with the keyboard as if you use it in a password field it purposely doesn't highlight the keys you just pressed and as the screen is so sensitive you can end up double pressing some keys and getting the password wrong! Other than that it's pretty damn slick you won't want to use the hardware keyboard if you can :)

Gen

May 29, 2010, 7:35 pm

@Nicholas





Thanks for your feedback!





Gen

TechVegan

June 1, 2010, 1:45 pm

@Nicholas Pires:


Hmmm, 8/10 Recommended.





@krosser:


It's more than noticeable, but it depends on your usage. If you just use word processing and browse the web, and watch SD video, the Atom is fine. Anything more intensive like Photoshop effects or HD video though and you'll be glad of the higher-end CPUs.





@Gen:


As Nicholas said, it's genuinely useful in tablet form for many things. Browsing the web and watching videos/photos on the couch is so much easier :)

Fuz

July 12, 2010, 12:41 am

I was slightly worried about purchasing this laptop having read a number of reviews saying that it would not be able to handle games on even the lowest settings (not that I planned to play many on an 11.6" screen). But I'm happy to say that it can play Battlefield 2142 and Medieval 2 Total war (both quite "heavy" games) on moderate to low settings with no difficulty! So while I agree it definitely makes web browsing more entertaining, thats certainly not all it can do! :)

Robert 12

August 17, 2010, 3:29 pm

I'm looking at using this as a paper-replacement tablet, how viable is that? I'd rather have a more powerful CPU than the RAM and HDD in the Packard Bell as I can easily upgrade the RAM, and plan on replacing the HDD with an SSD. Is this the one to go for, or are there other tablets I should be looking at?

TechVegan

January 31, 2011, 5:45 pm

@Robert 12:


Apologies about the late reply, but going by the motto 'better late than never', it would probably not be the best option as a "paper-replacement tablet" because you can't write or draw on it (i.e. it doesn't have a digitizer).


The http://www.trustedreviews.com/... would probably be more suitable, though there are quite a few interesting alternatives coming out atm. If you haven't taken the plunge already, it's worth holding out just a little longer.

comments powered by Disqus