Our Score


Review Price free/subscription

Previous page
Next page

Nicholas Pires

May 28, 2010, 1:35 pm

Ahh it's my laptop! You got hold of one then :)

Not that it matters but how would the scores be affected if it had the 4GB RAM and 320GB HDD + the DVD/RW and a wireless mouse for under £600?? ;-)


May 28, 2010, 8:47 pm

So, you've compared the SU2300 to the SU4100 and it's good to know. But how faster is the SU2300 than Atom N450? Is it noticeable?

Thanks in advance.


May 28, 2010, 9:12 pm


Do you use it in tablet form or is that something that is pretty cool in the beginning but is just not that useful?

Thanks for your time!

Nicholas Pires

May 29, 2010, 3:25 am


I use it in tablet form pretty much all of the time when I get the chance. As it's pretty much my pc to use when I get home late at night and want to surf the net/send a few emails etc before I go bed rather than turning on my big quad core machine. It's fantastic to be honest seeing as it's a capacitive screen it's really responsive to the fingers so I just run it in tablet mode hold it like a book or prop it up on my lap and just wisk my finger across as I need to browse about. It really is that and a bag of chips. Only complaint is sometimes I need to be very specific with the keyboard as if you use it in a password field it purposely doesn't highlight the keys you just pressed and as the screen is so sensitive you can end up double pressing some keys and getting the password wrong! Other than that it's pretty damn slick you won't want to use the hardware keyboard if you can :)


May 29, 2010, 7:35 pm


Thanks for your feedback!



June 1, 2010, 1:45 pm

@Nicholas Pires:

Hmmm, 8/10 Recommended.


It's more than noticeable, but it depends on your usage. If you just use word processing and browse the web, and watch SD video, the Atom is fine. Anything more intensive like Photoshop effects or HD video though and you'll be glad of the higher-end CPUs.


As Nicholas said, it's genuinely useful in tablet form for many things. Browsing the web and watching videos/photos on the couch is so much easier :)


July 12, 2010, 12:41 am

I was slightly worried about purchasing this laptop having read a number of reviews saying that it would not be able to handle games on even the lowest settings (not that I planned to play many on an 11.6" screen). But I'm happy to say that it can play Battlefield 2142 and Medieval 2 Total war (both quite "heavy" games) on moderate to low settings with no difficulty! So while I agree it definitely makes web browsing more entertaining, thats certainly not all it can do! :)

Robert 12

August 17, 2010, 3:29 pm

I'm looking at using this as a paper-replacement tablet, how viable is that? I'd rather have a more powerful CPU than the RAM and HDD in the Packard Bell as I can easily upgrade the RAM, and plan on replacing the HDD with an SSD. Is this the one to go for, or are there other tablets I should be looking at?


January 31, 2011, 5:45 pm

@Robert 12:

Apologies about the late reply, but going by the motto 'better late than never', it would probably not be the best option as a "paper-replacement tablet" because you can't write or draw on it (i.e. it doesn't have a digitizer).

The would probably be more suitable, though there are quite a few interesting alternatives coming out atm. If you haven't taken the plunge already, it's worth holding out just a little longer.

comments powered by Disqus