Home » Computing » PC Component » ATI HD 4670 » Testing and Conclusions

ATI HD 4670 - Testing and Conclusions

By Edward Chester


  • Recommended by TR
ATI HD 4670


Our Score


Review Price free/subscription

For testing we ran through our usual set of gaming tests and also measured the power draw of our test bed with each card installed. The test setup is as follows:

Common System Components

* Intel Core 2 Quad QX9770

* Asus P5E3

* 2GB Corsair TWIN3X2048-1333C9 DDR3

* 150GB Western Digital Raptor

* Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit

Cards Tested

* ATI HD 4670

* ATI HD 4850

* nVidia GeForce 9600 GT

* nVidia GeForce 9500GT

Games Tested

* Crysis

* Race Driver: GRID

* Enemy Territory: Quake Wars

* Call of Duty 4

* Counter-Strike: Source

Installation and testing passed without a hitch and we experienced no stability problems whatsoever. The card did become quite hot to the touch but we've come to expect that from ATI's cards and it has yet to cause a problem.

As for performance, the HD 4670 held up very well. Framerates were consistently within a 'playable' range for all games except Crysis where, at the settings tested, it struggled to hit 25fps. However, turning down the graphical settings a little should give you playable performance even in this most demanding of games. Most importantly, the HD 4670 distinguishes itself as being by far the best performer for its price.

Power consumption is of course a great concern in the current economic and environmental climate so it's good to see the HD 4670 does its bit as well. We did note that the 9500 GT consumed a little less power though. Nonetheless, you can rest assured that adding an HD 4670 to your system won't suddenly triple your electricity bill.


We really like the ATI HD 4670. If you're seriously into your gaming and have an enormous 24in (or above) monitor, then it's probably not for you. However, if all you have is a modest PC and a modest upgrade budget and you fancy a bit of 3D gaming fun, this card is the perfect option.

Previous page
Next page


October 20, 2008, 4:34 pm

another great review! any chance of seeing 3DMark06 benchmark results in the future graphics cards reviews?


October 20, 2008, 5:11 pm

Well, it was something we'd intentionally dropped as many think of it as irrelevant. However, if people would like to see it I can happily reinstate it.


October 20, 2008, 7:39 pm

just a question: i still have an old pentium 4 (3.2 Ghz) with 1GB ddr ram as my main fail safe "in case anything goes wrong i'm still ok" pc. my motherboard has a single pci express slot. will i ever get similar frame rates in something like race driver grid, or is it just as dependent on the cpu as it is on the gpu?

just asking ;-)


October 20, 2008, 8:57 pm

You should be absolutely fine. Most games are largely dependent on the graphics card rather than the CPU. Does your P4 have hyper threading?


October 20, 2008, 9:09 pm

I have the Sapphire implementation of this card and its loud, its not a screeching noise just a very loud whirring from the fan and thats with just a web browser going no gaming or strenuous work at all. The cooler also blocks the use of the PCIe x1 slot immediately next door.


October 20, 2008, 9:32 pm


yes. it's the old prescott chip, too, so sometimes i feel it'll burn my house down.

i just splashed out just over a grand for a new macbook pro, and i've been on a laptop for a very long while. but every now and then i need a little more oomph, and my geforce 6600 doesn't cut it anymore.

Martin Daler

October 20, 2008, 9:43 pm

excuse my slightly philistine outlook here, but what exactly are these graphics cards doing at idle in order to burn over 100W? I mean, a 100W lightbulb gets pretty darn hot, so I guess having one of these cards in your PC is like having a 100W lightbulb burning away inside. No wonder they need a fan. I just can't get my head around what (watt) goes on inside to expend all that energy, when they are idle. Lets not talk about the 200W plus when they are thinking...


October 21, 2008, 1:11 am


That 100w isn't just the card, that's the whole system, which uses a whole load of other high-end components. Also, because it's the power draw from the plug socket that we measure, you can straight away discount 15-20 per cent of that figure because it's lost through the power conversion process in the power supply.

With a more modest system you'd be looking at more like (and this is completely of the top of my head) 60W.

As for the power consumption figure of them under load; do you have any idea of the computing power that is required to perform real-time 3D rendering? It's phenomenal what these modern day cards can do.


Sounds like this card could be a good option for you.


Sounds like the card you've got uses a dual slot cooler, which the card we tested doesn't. Not sure what the loud fan problem is though.


October 21, 2008, 1:42 am

Hi, I have a PCI Express 1.0 m/b... and i was planning to buy this card, but it says on the review that it needs a PCI Express 2.0 slot to get all the power from there.

Do you think it will still work on a 1.0 slot?


October 21, 2008, 4:22 am

Usually a PCI-Express 2.0 card works fine in a 1.0 slot.

Im using a ATI 4850 in a PCI-E 1.0 slot. Works fine.

Jeremy Betteridge

October 25, 2008, 3:23 am

I'm upgrading from an X600 on a Dell Dimension 9150 with 4GB RAM. Will my machine cope with this card okay do you think or should I look at the 3650 or 2600? Great reiews by the way


July 20, 2011, 2:24 am

Can anyone give me a link to a shop with this exact model?

comments powered by Disqus