ATI HD 4670 pictures

1 of 16 pictures

ATI HD 4670
ATI HD 4670

16 Pictures - ATI HD 4670

  • ATI HD 4670
  • ATI HD 4670
  • ATI HD 4670
  • ATI HD 4670
  • ATI HD 4670
  • ATI HD 4670
  • ATI HD 4670
  • ATI HD 4670
  • ATI HD 4670
  • ATI HD 4670
  • ATI HD 4670
  • ATI HD 4670
  • ATI HD 4670
  • ATI HD 4670
  • ATI HD 4670
  • ATI HD 4670

lifeisagame

October 20, 2008, 4:34 pm

another great review! any chance of seeing 3DMark06 benchmark results in the future graphics cards reviews?

Ed

October 20, 2008, 5:11 pm

Well, it was something we'd intentionally dropped as many think of it as irrelevant. However, if people would like to see it I can happily reinstate it.

ilovethemonkeyhead

October 20, 2008, 7:39 pm

just a question: i still have an old pentium 4 (3.2 Ghz) with 1GB ddr ram as my main fail safe "in case anything goes wrong i'm still ok" pc. my motherboard has a single pci express slot. will i ever get similar frame rates in something like race driver grid, or is it just as dependent on the cpu as it is on the gpu?





just asking ;-)

Ed

October 20, 2008, 8:57 pm

You should be absolutely fine. Most games are largely dependent on the graphics card rather than the CPU. Does your P4 have hyper threading?

Moggy58

October 20, 2008, 9:09 pm

I have the Sapphire implementation of this card and its loud, its not a screeching noise just a very loud whirring from the fan and thats with just a web browser going no gaming or strenuous work at all. The cooler also blocks the use of the PCIe x1 slot immediately next door.

ilovethemonkeyhead

October 20, 2008, 9:32 pm

*Ed*





yes. it's the old prescott chip, too, so sometimes i feel it'll burn my house down.





i just splashed out just over a grand for a new macbook pro, and i've been on a laptop for a very long while. but every now and then i need a little more oomph, and my geforce 6600 doesn't cut it anymore.

Martin Daler

October 20, 2008, 9:43 pm

excuse my slightly philistine outlook here, but what exactly are these graphics cards doing at idle in order to burn over 100W? I mean, a 100W lightbulb gets pretty darn hot, so I guess having one of these cards in your PC is like having a 100W lightbulb burning away inside. No wonder they need a fan. I just can't get my head around what (watt) goes on inside to expend all that energy, when they are idle. Lets not talk about the 200W plus when they are thinking...

Ed

October 21, 2008, 1:11 am

Martin





That 100w isn't just the card, that's the whole system, which uses a whole load of other high-end components. Also, because it's the power draw from the plug socket that we measure, you can straight away discount 15-20 per cent of that figure because it's lost through the power conversion process in the power supply.





With a more modest system you'd be looking at more like (and this is completely of the top of my head) 60W.





As for the power consumption figure of them under load; do you have any idea of the computing power that is required to perform real-time 3D rendering? It's phenomenal what these modern day cards can do.





ilovethemonkeyhead





Sounds like this card could be a good option for you.





Moggy58





Sounds like the card you've got uses a dual slot cooler, which the card we tested doesn't. Not sure what the loud fan problem is though.



Marlon

October 21, 2008, 1:42 am

Hi, I have a PCI Express 1.0 m/b... and i was planning to buy this card, but it says on the review that it needs a PCI Express 2.0 slot to get all the power from there.


Do you think it will still work on a 1.0 slot?

Ecelestin

October 21, 2008, 4:22 am

Usually a PCI-Express 2.0 card works fine in a 1.0 slot.





Im using a ATI 4850 in a PCI-E 1.0 slot. Works fine.

Jeremy Betteridge

October 25, 2008, 3:23 am

I'm upgrading from an X600 on a Dell Dimension 9150 with 4GB RAM. Will my machine cope with this card okay do you think or should I look at the 3650 or 2600? Great reiews by the way

laur1c

July 20, 2011, 2:24 am

Can anyone give me a link to a shop with this exact model?

comments powered by Disqus